Meniscus re-release ‘Absence Of I’ and announce Australian shows

Sydney instrumental rock legends MENISCUS have announced they will re-release their debut EP ‘Absence Of I’ on May 4th, including previously unreleased material.

The band will hit the road to launch the record, along with showcasing material from last year’s excellent ‘War of Currents’ album. These will be their last Australian shows before they head over to Europe to perform at Germany’s Fusion Festival and tour throughout July.

Absence Of I

War Of Currents

Tour dates:

Fri May 4th @ The Bald Faced Stag, Leichhardt NSW w/Tangled Thoughts Of Leaving, Hawkmoth, Adrift For Days, Nihilore

Fri May 25th @ The Hi-Fi, Sydney NSW w/Dead Letter Circus, Fair To Midland, Twelve Foot Ninja

Fri June 8th @ Evelyn Hotel, Melbourne VIC  w/Laura, This Is Your Captain Speaking, Lunaire

Fri June 15th @ Sandringham Hotel, Newtown NSW w/Screens, Alithia, Solkyri.

Dumbsaint release new album ‘Something That You Feel Will Find Its Own Form’

Sydney’s post-metal trio DUMBSAINT have finally released their debut album ‘Something That You Feel Will Find Its Own Form.’

The band have just wrapped up their east coast album launch tour and will take a short break before heading back out on the road again.

You can purchase and stream the album in full from

Bright Quito Spring – “Bright Quito Spring EP”

One from the vaults, in a manner of speaking. Bright Quito Spring are a Sydney 4-piece who rose from the ashes of the amazing saxophone led progressive rock band Space Banditos, who’s dissipation caused much sadness here at BRC. When members Chris and Gonzalo told us about their new project, however, our initial excitement were as high as our expectations. We weren’t let down.

Taking a mixture of inspirations old and new, Bright Quito Spring come across as a punkier, looser Dirty Projectors fronted by two young Jeff Buckleys and backed by a couple of Johnny Marrs. This combination is utterly thrilling, and I can only imagine the amount that this band will achieve over the next few years, especially considering the high caliber of songwriting they are showing in these early stages.

Earlier this year (before bringing in a bassist) BQS recorded a 3-track EP, which I would highly recommend. Despite being self-recorded, the audio quality is incredible, especially the effort put into the vocals.

Click the image to the left (that’s their EP cover) to be led to their bandcamp page, name your price and download. I can assure you, you will not be disappointed!

Vampillia: Sppears

Bird’s Robe Records are proud to announce the Australian release of “Sppears” by Japanese avant garde noise merchants Vampillia.


The Bird’s Robe Collaboration Band: Musodynamics

Earlier this year The Bird’s Robe, a Sydney-based music collective / record label, conceived the first in a series of collaborative projects combining the talents of various musicians working in Sydney’s experimental / progressive rock music scene.

The first in this series is an EP entitled Musodynamics, Produced by Alex O’ Toole (Captain Kickarse & The Awesomes) featuring the following lineup:


Joel Woolfe (Pirate) : sax
Nick Soole (Slimey Things) : guitar
Max Scholler-Root (The Fuji Collective) : guitar
Mike Kennet (Squid) : keyboards
Josh Ahearn (Squat Club) : bass
Tim Adderley: (Pirate): drums

Music Written and Performed by The Bird’s Robe Collaboration Band and Alex O’Toole.
Recorded and Produced by Alex O’Toole.